top of page


The Cyprus Symphony Orchestra presents a tribute to 20th century music with three outstanding musical works, which seem to be closely connected to a geographical place, whether inspired by its sensations, nature, life or vibe.

Our concert starts off with Orawa (1986) for string orchestra by the Polish composer Wojciech Kilar, one of his most popular works. The piece was inspired by the region Orawa, located between Slovakia and Poland in the Tatra Mountains and forms the last piece of his cycle “Tatra Mountain works”. As the composer stated in an interview: “Orawa is the only piece in which I wouldn’t change a single note, though I have looked at it many times. [...] What is achieved in it is what I strive for – to be the best possible Kilar”.

And from the 1980s we head back to the 1940s and to the emblematic work Appalachian Spring (1944) by the American composer Aaron Copland. The piece was originally commissioned as ballet music for the famous Martha Graham Dance Company and the setting is a 19th century farmhouse in Pennsylvania. The ballet was a huge success and Copland received a Pulitzer Prize in 1945 for his achievement. Copland was consequently commissioned to create an instrumental suite from the ballet, which resulted in the ballet suite for 13 instruments you will hear in our concert.

Our programme closes with Czech composer Bohuslav Martinů's Sinfonietta “La Jolla”, written in 1950 while Martinů was in the USA. The piece took its title from the town of La Jolla, Florida for which it was commissioned. As a part of the commission, Martinů was requested to compose music that would be tuneful and accessible. And so he did! His Sinfonietta is a joyful piece full of spirit, energy and colour, and thus concludes our 20th century musical journey with a positive vibe.          

Wojciech Kilar: Orawa

Aaron Copland: Appalachian Spring, suite for 13 instruments

Bohuslav Jan Martinů: Sinfonietta La Jolla, H. 328

Conductor: Patrick Gallois

Supporters: Rialto Theatre, Limassol Municipality

Ticket prices: €12, €7 (18-26 yrs, pensioners), €5 (under 18)

Ticket presales:

  • For the concert at the Rialto Theatre, online at - Rialto App and at the Box Office, Mon-Fri 10:00-15:00.

  • For the concert at Pallas Theatre, online at and at the Box Office every Wednesday 16:00-19:00.

  • Τickets will not be available at the theatre box offices on the concert day.

Rialto Theatre (Andrea Drousioti 19, Heroes Square, 3040 Lemesos, 77777745)

Pallas Theatre, Pafos Gate (Rigainis and Arsinois corner, 1010 Lefkosia, 22 410181)

For more information you may contact Constantia Elia at 22 463135, email:

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page