top of page

With the Sounds of Nuevo Tango the Cyprus Symphony Orchestra

Enjoy a programme with the sizzling rhythms and sounds of Nuevo tango, the revolutionary new style of tango created by the Argentinian composer Astor Piazzolla in the mid-20th century. Incorporating elements from classical and jazz music into the traditional Argentinian tango, his work takes us straight to the heart of the most intense human emotions.

2021 marks the 100th birthday of Astor Piazzolla which we celebrate with two of his most representative works: the Four Seasons of Buenos Aires (Estaciones Porteñas) and the mysterious and tense Tangazo: Variations on Buenos Aires.

Originally scored for Piazzolla’s quintet (that of course included the bandoneón!), you will hear the Estaciones Porteñas in Leonid Desyatnikov’s arrangement for solo violin and strings, interspersed with quotations from Antonio Vivaldi’s Four Seasons, thus offering a fascinating connection between the two works.

Our programme also features the world premiere of the Concerto for three guitars by the contemporary Argentinian composer / guitarist Maximo Diego Pujol, following in Piazzolla’s footsteps, merges the traditional tango and folk genres with classical forms and styles.

Astor Piazzolla: The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires, arr.: L. Desyatnikov for solo violin and strings

Μáximo Diego Pujol: Concierto for three guitars [World Premiere]

Astor Piazzolla: Tangazo: Variations on Buenos Aires

Soloist: Νikos Pittas, violin

Cyprus Guitar Trio (Vasilios Avraam, Socrates Leptos, George Christofi)

Conductor: Μiltos Logiadis

Rialto Theatre - Friday, 4th June 2021 at 20:30

Rialto Box Office : 77 77 77 45, Rialto App

Tickets: €12, €7 (18-26 yrs, pensioners), €5 (under 18)

*The concert will also be presented in Nicosia on 2/6 at the Pallas Theatre &

in Paphos on 3/6 at the Markideio Municipal Theate

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page