top of page

The ISFFC announces its National Competition Programme

The International Short Film Festival of Cyprus will take place this year from 8th to 14th October.

With the aim of showcasing all that is novel in the short film world, both nationally and internationally, the festival is an institution of the Deputy Ministry of Culture (Cultural Services) and is executed by Rialto Theatre, where it will be held for the twelfth consecutive year.

This year’s National Competition section is made up of fifteen short films by Cypriot filmmakers that form a rich and multifaceted programme. Fiction films, animation, documentaries and experimental projects exhibit unique visual styles, while bringing the public into contact with the cultural currents of the time.

Specifically, the 15 short films in the National Competition are:

  1. Dream, Directed by: Nicolas Kasinos

  2. Backroom Blues, Directed by: Andreas Kyriacou

  3. Sunday, Directed by: Dinos Gregoriou

  4. Daphne, Directed by: Tonia Misiali

  5. Exploitation, Directed by: Marina Symeou

  6. Sunny Side Up, Directed by: Paschalis Paschalis

  7. A Night of Riots, Directed by: Andreas Sheittanis

  8. Roots of Our Fathers, Directed by: Antony Petrou

  9. Bittacı, Directed by: Ferhat Yesilada

  10. The First Visit, Directed by: Christina Hadjizachariou

  11. The Stray Cats of the Dead Zone, Directed by: Nicolas Karatzas

  12. Reimagining a Sound, Directed by: Nicolas Iordanou, Sylvia Nicolaides

  13. Remember?, Directed by: Ferea Nicolaou

  14. Egkata, Directed by: Alexis Vassiliou

  15. Face, Directed by: Sophia Kyriacou

The members of the pre-selection committee who chose the Cypriot films participating in the National Competition are: Nicolas Khabbaz, producer and director of Audio-visual Arts at Notre Dame University in Lebanon (NDU), Adonis Florides, director-screenwriter, and Dr Marios Psarras, director-film academic.

The international competition programme is curated by Cypriot filmmakers, Alexia Roider and Ioakim Mylonas.

An international jury, the members of which will be announced soon, will have the responsibility of granting the awards in both sections of the festival. The winners will be presented with the following awards: 1st Prize for Best Short Film, Best Director Award, 2nd Prize for Best Short Film, 1st Prize for Best National Film, 2nd Prize for Best National Film, Best Documentary Award, Best Performance Award in a Cypriot film sponsored by the Limassol Municipality, Best Cypriot Director Award 'Dinos Katsourides', Best Cinematography Award, and Student Jury Award for Best Music Video. The jury may also give up to 3 Honorary Distinctions in both sections.

Cypriot films are automatically included in the international competition, while they are eligible to be selected for the nomination in the category ‘European Short Film’ at the European Film Awards.

More information about the festival and its screenings programme will be announced in the coming weeks.

All screenings are suitable for 18+.

Information: Rialto Theatre 77 77 77 45

Instagram: isffc_filmfestival

Twitter: #RialtoTheatreCy /#isffc22 /

351 views0 comments


bottom of page